IPL Purple Cap Winners

IPL Purple Cap Winners

The Purple Cap is given to the best bowler of the tournament in the Indian Premier League. This is a regular practice right from the start of the league, and over the years some brilliant bowlers have had the honor to have their name on IPL purple cap winners list.

Indias Bhuvneshwar Kumar and West Indian DJ bravo are the only two bowlers to have their name twice in IPL purple cap winners list however Bhuneshwar Kumar is the only bowler in IPL history to be retained its purple cap across two consecutive seasons in this one of the top-rated franchise cricket leagues.

IPL Purple Cap Winners List

  • Dwayne Bravo (2013, 2015)
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2016, 2017)
  • Sohail Tanvir (2008)
  • R. P. Singh (2009)
  • Pragyan Ojha (2010)
  • Lasith Malinga (2011)
  • Morne Morkel (2012)
  • Mohit Sharma (2014)
  • Andre Tye (2018)
  • ImranTahir (2019)
  • Kagiso Rabada (2020)
  • Harshal Patel (2021)

Purple Cap Winners Table

S.#Purple Cap WinnerSeasonMatWkts
1 Sohail Tanvir (RR)20081122
2 R. P. Singh (DC)20091623
3 Pragyan Ojha (DC)20101621
4 Lasith Malinga (MI)20111628
5 Morne Morkel (DD)20121625
6 Dwayne Bravo (CSK)20131832
7 Mohit Sharma (CSK)20141623
8 Dwayne Bravo (CSK)20151626
9 Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH)20161723
10 Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH)20171426
11 Andrew Tye (KXIP)20181424
12 Imran Tahir (CSK)20191726
13 Kagiso Rabada (DC)20201730
14 Harshal Patel (RCB)20211532

IPL Purple Cap Winner 2021

Royal Challengers Bangalore’s Harshal Patel received the purple cap in IPL 2021. He picked up a massive tally of 32 wickets in IPL 2021. He had a brilliant average of just 14 with the ball, his economy rate was 8.14 and he also had a five-wicket haul.

2020 IPL Purple Cap Winner

Kagiso Rabadda picked 30 wickets in 17 games for Delhi Capitals in IPL 2020. He won the purple cap, he had an average of 18 with the ball, while his economy rate was 8.34. He managed two 4-Wicket hauls in the tournament.

2019 Purple Cap Winner in IPL

The veteran leg-spin bowler, Imran Tahir took 26 wickets in 17 games at an average of 16 and became the best bowler of IPL 2019. Imran’s purple cap winning performance included two 4-wicket hauls and an economy rate of just 6.89 in the tournament.

IPL Purple Cap Winner 2018

Kings XI Punjab’s Andrew Tye took 24 wickets in IPL 2018 and became the Purple Cap winner. He took three 4-wicket hauls and had an average of 18.66 with an economy rate of 8. He is the only Australian till date to win the Purple Cap in IPL.

IPL Purple Cap Winner 2017

Bhuvneshwar Kumar took 26 wickets representing the Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2017. He won the purple cap bowling at an average of 14 and an economy rate of just 7. He took 1 five wicket haul. This was his second consecutive purple cap in IPL.

IPL Purple Cap Winner 2016

Bhuvneshwar Kumar with 23 wickets in 17 games finished as the highest wicket taker of IPL 2016. He had an average of 21 and an economy rate 7.4, with one five wicket haul in the tournament.

2015 IPL Purple Cap Winner

The Caribbean Legend, DJ Bravo was the purple cap holder of IPL 2015. Representing Chennai Super Kings, Bravo picked 26 wickets at an average of 16 and economy rate of 8. This was the second time that Bravo won the Purple Cap in IPL.

2014 IPL Purple Cap Winner

With 23 wickets in IPL 2014, Mohit Sharma won the Purple Cap. He bowled at an average of 19.65 and an economy rate of 8.39 representing the Chennai Super Kings. He got one 4-wicket haul this year.

IPL Purple Cap Winner 2013

DJ Bravo won his first purple cap in IPL 2013. He picked 32 wickets at an average of 15 and economy rate of 7.95 representing the Chennai Super Kings. He took one 4-wicket haul.

IPL Purple Cap Winner 2012

Morne Morkel had the honor to get the Purple Cap in IPL in 2012 representing Delhi Daredevils. He took 25 wickets in 16 matches at an average of 18 and an economy rate of 7.19. He had one 4-wicket haul to his name this year.

IPL Purple Cap Winner 2011

The Sri Lankan Legend, Lasith Malinga took 28 wickets in 16 games representing the Mumbai Indians in IPL 2021. He won the purple cap, he bowled at an average of 13 and his economy was astonishing 5.95. He also took a fifer in IPL 2011. Malinga is the only Mumbai Indians bowler to win the Purple Cap.

IPL Purple Cap Winner 2010

Pragyan Ojha took 21 wickets in 16 games and became the purple cap holder of Indian Premier League 2010. He represented Deccan Chargers this year. He had an average of 20 and an economy rate of 7.

2009 winner of Purple Cap

With 23 wickets in 16 games, Deccan Chargers’ RP Singh became the purple cap winner of IPL 2009. He had an average of 18 and an economy rate of 6.98 with one 4-wicket haul in the tournament.

IPL Purple Cap Winner 2008

Pakistan’s Sohail Tanvir was the purple cap winner in inaugural IPL edition with 22 wickets in 11 games. With one fifer and one 4-wicket haul, Sohail had a bowling average of 12 and economy rate of 6.46. He was with Rajasthan Royals this season. He is the first and only bowler from Rajasthan Royals to win the purple cap and helped them to get crowned as IPL winners.

About Ehsan Muhammad Khan

A cricket enthusiast who is keenly following cricket since years and now transforming his passion for the game by analyzing events taking place on the cricket field.

View all posts by Ehsan Muhammad Khan →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *