Best T20 Leagues

Best T20 Leagues in World

Nowadays there is plenty of franchise T20 leagues surfaced in the cricket world and there is always a debate as that which is the best T20 league in the world or which is the best T20 cricket league overall? It is always a dilemma for fans either to rate the best cricket leagues on the highest T20 prize money or judge top T20 leagues on basis of how many teams play in a tournament.

Here we are providing a brief overview of every T20 league in the world and also try to provide all details for all T20 competitions in the world so that cricket fans can decide on their own which is the best T20 league.

List of Best T20 Leagues in World Cricket

Rankings of Best Cricket Leagues

RankT20 EventYear Inaugurated# of SeasonLast EditionTeamsWinning PrizeCurrent Champion
1IPL200816202310USD 16,000,000Chennai Super Kings
2SA20 League2022120226USD 4,000,000Pretoria Capitals
3T20 Blast200320202318USD 1,600,000Somerset
4CPL2013920236USD 1,000,000Guyana Amazon Warriors
5ILT202022120226USD 700,000Gulf Giants
6BPL 2012 720237USD 850,000 Comilla Victorians
7PSL2016720236USD 450,000Lahore Qalandars
8BBL2011122022-238USD 330,800Perth Scorchers
9LPL2020320216USD 100,000B-Love Kandy
10Afghan Premier League2018
120185USD 300,000Balkh Legends

Indian Premier League

IPL can easily be rated as the #1 T20 franchise cricket league in the world. IPL has the most # of teams participating as well as the most number of editions (15 in total) that have been organized so far. IPL also offering a massive winning prize of USD 16,000,000 which is much much much more than the second-placed Pakistan Super League. IPL was inaugurated in 2008.

SA20 League

SA20 league is another new T20 franchise tournament in busy schedule of T20 leagues taking place around the globe. It is owned and operate by South Africa and will look forward to establish it for a longer stay at top level comparing to other two leagues of South Africa which failed.

Despite the newest league SA20 league offering 2nd highest prize in T20 leagues which is USD 4,000,000 and they are 2nd best T20 leagues in our T20 rating.

T20 Blast

England is the founder of T20 leagues and their tournament named T20 blast is the first T20 league in the world. So far 20 editions of blast took pace with number of participating teams are 18 which is the highest amongst all T20 franchise cricket leagues taking place in the world. Blast prize money is USD 1,600,000 for the winning team. Blast 1st edition took place in 2003.

Caribbean Premier League

CPL is the West Indies trademark T20 tournament. Just like West Indian cricket, CPL brings lots of flair and excitement to world cricket. CPL winning team prize money is USD 429,799 and so far its 9 editions took place since its inception in 2013.

UAE International League T20

4th best T20 league in our list is ILT20 tournament is UAE’s own franchise based T20 league which will feature 06 teams. Each team can have as many as nine overseas players whereas two places in eleven will be reserved for UAE local players which will help in developing their game. First edition of this league will take place in January 2023. Its prize money is USD 1,000,000.

Bangladesh Premier League

Bangladesh Premier league started in 2012 but was only able to organize 7 seasons of their home T20 league in 9 years. Their prize money for the winning team is USD 850,000 which place this league ahead of likes of PSL and BBL in our best T20 leagues list.

Pakistan Super League

Pakistan Super League is not among the oldest T20 leagues but the prize money they are offering for the winning team made it 7th best league in the world. PSL winning team gets USD 450,000. PSL is also expanding and there are hints that prize money for the upcoming PSL edition will be much higher than offered currently. PSL’s first edition took place in 2016.

Big Bash League

Big Bash League is Australia’s pioneer franchise T20 league and they are much older than PSL and engage much more energy in competition by having more international players but their winning prize makes them 8th on the list of best T20 leagues in the world. BBL winning prize is USD 330,800. Big Bash League was founded in 2011.

Lanka Premier League

Sri Lanka’s very own T20 franchise cricket league only started earlier this year but their efforts and continuity to host another event same year ranked it on 9th place in the list of best T20 tournaments in the world. The winning team prize money of LPL is USD 100,000.

Afghanistan Premier League

Afghanistan Premier League started in 2018 but suspended operations and no edition took place since the inaugural event. Afghanistan Premier League Prize money is USD 300,000 but their irregular schedule make its last number in our list.

About Ehsan Muhammad Khan

A cricket enthusiast who is keenly following cricket since years and now transforming his passion for the game by analyzing events taking place on the cricket field.

View all posts by Ehsan Muhammad Khan →

2 Comments on “Best T20 Leagues”

  1. Lol , PsL Isn’t Worth A Penny , BBL And CPL Isn’t Earings Less Then PSL , Other Then Retired Players No Overseas Players Play PSL , U Can Fool Pakistanis Not Other People.

    1. Dear Neel,
      It is with respect to prize money offered by each T20 Leagues.
      You may disagree with the writer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *