Punjab Kings Squad

Punjab Kings Squad 2022

Punjab Kings, Formerly known as Kings XI Punjab, will feature in IPL 2023 representing Punjab Region of the country. Punjab Kings Squad is always full of thrilling and exciting players but still they are one of those sides who are yet to have their name in IPL champion list.

They are surely hoping that changing the name of their franchise will also change their fates and they will finally break the jinx of not winning an IPL trophy.

Second highest run scorer in IPL history Shikhar Dhawan is appointed as new captain of franchise and he will replace Mayank Agarwal to have Punjab first IPL title in the bag. Crop of good young local and international players also needs to step up and perform in one of the biggest T20 leagues to made their team win.

Punjab Kings Players List 2023

Player nameRoleBatting styleBowling style
Shivam SinghAll-RounderRight HandedRight Arm Off Break
Mohit RatheeAll-RounderRight HandedLeg Break
Vidwath KaverappaBowlerRight HandedRight Arm fast Medium
Harpreet BhatiabatterLeft HandedRight Arm Medium
Sikandar RazaAll-RounderRight HandedRight Arm Off Break
Sam CurranAll-RounderLeft HandedLeft Arm Medium fast
Shikhar DhawanbatterLeft HandedRight Arm Off Break
Shahrukh KhanbatterRight HandedRight Arm Off Break
Jonny BairstowWicket-KeeperRight Handed 
Prabhsimran SinghWicket-KeeperRight Handed 
Bhanuka RajapaksabatterLeft HandedRight Arm Medium
Jitesh ShArmaWicket-KeeperRight Handed 
Raj BawaAll-RounderLeft HandedRight Arm Medium fast
Rishi DhawanAll-RounderRight HandedRight Arm Medium fast
Liam LivingstonebatterRight HandedLeg Break
Atharva TaideAll-RounderLeft HandedSlow Left Arm orthodox
Arshdeep SinghBowlerLeft HandedLeft Arm Medium fast
Baltej SinghBowlerRight HandedRight Arm Medium 
Nathan EllisBowlerRight HandedRight Arm fast Medium
Kagiso RabadaBowlerLeft HandedRight Arm fast
Rahul ChaharBowlerRight HandedLeg Break googly
Harpreet BrarBowlerLeft HandedSlow Left Arm orthodox

Check Punjab Kings IPL record against other teams here

Punjab Kings Auction IPL 2023

Players purchased in IPL Auction by Punjab Kings

  • Shivam Singh (INR 20 lakh)
  • Mohit Rathee (INR 20 lakh)
  • Vidwath Kaverappa (INR 20 lakh)
  • Harpreet Bhatia (INR 40 lakh)
  • Sikandar Raza (INR 50 lakh)
  • Sam Curran (INR 18.5 crore)

Punjab Kings Released Players

Released Players of Punjab Kings

  • Mayank Agarwal,
  • Odean Smith*,
  • Vaibhav Arora,
  • Benny Howell*,
  • Ishan Porel,
  • Ansh Patel,
  • Prerak Mankad,
  • Sandeep Sharma,
  • Writtick Chatterjee

Punjab Kings Retained Players IPL 2023

PKBS only retained players for IPL 2023 squad is listed below:

Punjab Kings Retained Players List:

  • Shikhar Dhawan, 
  • hahrukh Khan, 
  • Rahul Chahar, 
  • Arshdeep Singh, 
  • Harpreet Brar, 
  • Raj Angad Bawa, 
  • Prabhsimran Singh, 
  • Rishi Dhawan, 
  • Jitesh Sharma, 
  • Baltej Singh Dhanda, 
  • Atharva Taide, 
  • Liam Livingstone*, 
  • Kagiso Rabada*, 
  • Jonny Bairstow*, 
  • Nathan Ellis*, 
  • Bhanuka Rajapakse*

Punjab Kings Overseas Players

PKBS Overseas Players List

Punjab Kings Team 2023

PBKS Captain

Explosive opening batter Shikhar Dhawan named as captain of Punjab Kings for IPL 2023. He replaced Mayank Agarwal who captained the side in 14 matches last year and ended season on 6th spot.

PBKS Batsmen

Shikhar Dhawan, Liam Livingstone and Bhanuka Rajapaksa are some fiery batters in the lineup of Punjab Kings. Dhawan and Livingstone were the top 2 highest run getters for Punjab Kings in IPL 2022. Dhawan is the all time 2nd highest run scorer in IPL history. Rajapaksa also scored 200+ runs in IPL 2022 however his recent form in the PSL was questionable.

To further strengthen the batting Harpreet Bhatia and Shahrukh Khan are a part of this squad. Harpreet Bhatia averages 36 with the bat and has strike rate of 124.

Punjab Kings Batsmen List

  • Harpreet Bhatia
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Shahrukh Khan
  • Bhanuka Rajapaksa
  • Liam Livingstone

PBKS Bowlers

Punjab Kings Bowlers list

Kagiso Rabada, Nathan Ellis and Arshdeep Singh are the frontline pacers of Punjab Kings for IPL 2023. Rabada was the highest wicket taker for PBKS in IPL 2022, while Arshdeep Singh was the 3rd highest. Ellis only got a couple of games in IPL 2022, however his T20 stats are phenomenal and he is a wicket-taker.

Rahul Chahar will lead the spin-attack. He was the 2nd highest wicket-taker of Punjab Kings last year in the IPL.

  • Vidwath Kaverappa
  • Arshdeep Singh
  • Baltej Singh
  • Nathan Ellis
  • Kagiso Rabada
  • Rahul Chahar
  • Harpreet Brar

PBKS All Rounders

Sikandar Raza and Sam Curran are the two star all-rounders in Punjab Kings squad. Raza has had a brilliant time lately, let it be in World T20 or in PSL, he is in fine rhythm. Curran is one of the most expensive purchases of IPL history. He was MOTM in the final of World T20 2022 and also man of the tournament.

Rishi Dhawan is also an experienced all-rounder who is reliable as a batter and can pick wickets. The rest of the all-rounders are good potential talents.

Punjab Kings All Rounders List

  • Shivam Singh
  • Mohit Rathee
  • Sikandar Raza
  • Sam Curran
  • Raj Bawa
  • Rishi Dhawan
  • Atharva Taide

PBKS Wicket Keepers

Jitesh Sharma and Prabhsimran Singh are the two options for wicket-keeping in the Punjab Kings squad. Prabhsimran averages 37 in T20 cricket with the bat and has strike rate of 137. Jitesh averages 30 with a strike rate of 147. Both players are full of potential and it would be interesting to see who gets the gloves initially.

  • Jonny Bairstow
  • Jitesh Sharma
  • Prabhsimran Singh

PBKS Captains

Over the years there have been 12 different captains of Punjab Kings. Some of the all time greats like, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Yuvraj Singh and Adam Gilchrist have led Punjab Kings, although none of them have reached the podium in the past to win the IPL trophy.

Yuvraj Singh2008-20092917120058.62
KC Sangakkara2010-201013391026.92
DPMD Jayawardene2010-2010101000
AC Gilchrist2011-20133417170050
DJ Hussey2012-201312660050
GJ Bailey2014-20153518170051.42
V Sehwag2015-20151001050
DA Miller2016-20166150016.66
M Vijay2016-20168350037.5
GJ Maxwell2017-201714770050
R Ashwin2018-20192812160042.85
KL Rahul2020-20212711142044.44
MA Agarwal2021-2021101000

About Ehsan Muhammad Khan

A cricket enthusiast who is keenly following cricket since years and now transforming his passion for the game by analyzing events taking place on the cricket field.

View all posts by Ehsan Muhammad Khan →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *