Most Wickets in IPL History

Most Wickets in IPL History

Indian Premier League is more known for its high quality batting, however that doesn’t mean that bowling in one of the top t20 leagues is anything less. List of bowlers with most wickets in IPL history have equal share both by Indians and overseas players.

There have been some fine bowlers in the history of IPL over the years, including some legendary names. Following is the list of top ten wicket takers in the history of IPL:

List of Highest Wicket Takers in IPL

  • LasithMalinga (SL)
  • Dwayne Bravo (WI)
  • Amit Mishra (Ind)
  • Piyush Chawla (Ind)
  • Harbhajan Singh (Ind)
  • RavichandranAshwin (Ind)
  • Sunil Narine (WI)
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Ind)
  • YuzvendraChahal (Ind)
  • JaspritBumrah (Ind)


Known as the finest T20 pace bowler, Sri Lankan legend Lasith Malinga most wickets in IPL history. Malinga has 170 wickets in 122 IPL games at an average of just 19. He also has one five wicket haul to his name. Winner of purple cap in IPL Malinga represented Mumbai Indians throughout his IPL Career.

DJ Bravo

One of the two players to end IPL season as highest wicket taker twice Caribbean legend, DJ Bravo is the 2nd best bowler in IPL history. DJ Bravo has been a part of Chennai Super Kings, Gujarat Lions and Mumbai Indians over the years.

He has taken 167 wickets in 151 IPL Matches. His average with the ball is 24 and he has 2 Four-Wicket Hauls in his IPL Career. He is also the joint highest wicket taker in single season of IPL.

Amit Mishra

Amit Mishra is the 3rd on the list of most wickets in IPL history and also has most wickets in IPL by an Indian bowler. Over the years the veteran has been part of 4 different IPL franchises picking up 166 wickets at an average of 23. He has one five-wicket haul in his IPL Career.

Piyush Chawla

Piyush Chawla has picked up 157 wickets in his 165 Match IPL Career. Chawla is the 4th highest wicket taker in IPL history. He has represented 4 different teams in his IPL Career.  Piyush Chawla has 2 4-Wicket Hauls in IPL and has a bowling average of 27.

Harbhajan Singh

Veteran off-spinner, Harbhajan Singh is the 5th on he list of best bowler in Indian Premier League. Harbhajan has been a part of Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians in his IPL Career. He has 150 wickets in IPL at an average of 26. He has 1 IPL fifer to his name as well.

Ravichandran Ashwin

In his 167 match IPL career of 4 different sides, R Ashwin has taken 145 wickets at an average of 27. Ashwin is the 6th on the list of bowlers with highest number of wickets in IPL. He has one 4-Wicket Haul in his IPL Career.

Sunil Narine

Another Caribbean in the list of top 10 wicket-takers of IPL is Sunil Narine. Sunil Narine has just featured for Kolkatta Knight Riders in his 134 match IPL Career. Sunil is the 7th highest wicket taker of IPL. He has taken 143 wickets at an average of 24. He has 1 fifer to his name in IPL.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Only bowler to retain his purple cap during two consecutive IPL seasons Bhuvneshwar Kumar has taken 142 wickets in 132 IPL Matches at an average of 25 while representing Pune Warriors India and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

He has 1 fifer to his name in IPL. Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the 8th on the list of players with most wickets in IPL history.


 In 114 matches for Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore, Chahal has taken 139 wickets and is the 9th highest wicket taker of Indian Premier League. Chahal’s bowling average in IPL is 22. He has 2 four-wicket hauls to his name in IPL.


Mumbai Indians’ pacer JaspritBumrah is the 10th highest wicket taker of IPL. Bumrah has played 106 IPL matches taking 130 wickets at an average of 23. He has 2 four-wicket hauls to his name in IPL.

Most Wickets in IPL History

SL Malinga2009-20191221705 for 1319.797.1416.661
DJ Bravo2008-20211511674 for 2224.318.3617.420
A Mishra2008-20211541665 for 1723.957.3519.541
PP Chawla2008-20211651574 for 1727.397.8820.820
Harbhajan Singh2008-20211631505 for 1826.867.0722.711
R Ashwin2009-20211671454 for 3427.86.9124.110
SP Narine2012-20211341435 for 1924.536.7421.871
B Kumar2011-20211321425 for 1925.267.320.721
YS Chahal2013-20211141394 for 2522.287.5917.620
JJ Bumrah2013-20211061304 for 1423.047.4218.620
RA Jadeja2008-20212001275 for 1630.047.6123.631
UT Yadav2010-20201211194 for 2430.078.5121.120
Sandeep Sharma2013-2021991124 for 2025.437.7719.620
A Nehra2008-2017881064 for 1023.537.841810
R Vinay Kumar2008-20181051054 for 4028.248.3820.210
Z Khan2008-20171001024 for 1727.277.5821.510
DW Steyn2008-202095973 for 825.856.9122.400
CH Morris2013-202181954 for 2324.15818.140
AR Patel2014-2021109954 for 2129.077.2224.110
Rashid Khan2017-202176933 for 720.556.3319.400
MM Sharma2013-202086924 for 1426.848.441910
SR Watson2008-2020145924 for 2929.157.932210
RP Singh2008-201682904 for 2225.977.919.720
P Kumar2008-2017119903 for 1836.127.722800
PP Ojha2008-201592893 for 1126.27.3621.300
DS Kulkarni2008-202192864 for 1428.768.320.710
JA Morkel2008-201691854 for 3227.78.220.210
JD Unadkat2010-202186855 for 2530.448.7420.802
Imran Tahir2014-202159824 for 1220.767.761630
IK Pathan2008-2017103803 for 2433.117.7725.500
Mohammed Shami2013-202177793 for 1530.48.6221.100
HV Patel2012-202163785 for 2723.178.5816.211
M Morkel2009-201670774 for 2027.127.6921.110
K Rabada2017-202150764 for 2120.528.211540
TA Boult2015-202162764 for 1826.098.3918.610
L Balaji2008-201473765 for 2426.688.0419.931
Top wicket taker in IPL (Min: 75 Wickets)

About Ehsan Muhammad Khan

A cricket enthusiast who is keenly following cricket since years and now transforming his passion for the game by analyzing events taking place on the cricket field.

View all posts by Ehsan Muhammad Khan →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *