Peshawar Zalmi All Details – Squad, Match Schedule, Records, Kit, Anthem, Ambassadors


Peshawar Zalmi, the 2017 PSL champions, haven’t replicated their early success in recent years. However, with a revamped squad for PSL 2024, they aim to return to the top. 

Peshawar Zalmi has a squad with exciting potential, boasting explosive batting, versatile all-rounders, and an experienced bowling attack. Their success hugely depends on Babar Azam’s leadership, whereas the individual brilliance of talented players will help them to clinch the title.


Peshawar Zalmi Players List

Analysis of Peshawar Zalmi Squad 2024

Peshawar Zalmi Batters

The captain and cornerstone of the batting order, boasting a T20 strike rate of 130.20 and an average of 34.12. Babar will be the mainstay of the PZ batting unit whereas other explosive batters like Rowman Powell from West Indies and Saim Ayub will try to blitz at the top of the order.

Powell brings power-hitting with a strike rate of 144.26 and 3 T20 centuries. Whereas SaimAyubhas a T20 strike rate of 154.17 and averages 34.59 and will be seen closely after his explosive batting glimpse last year. Asif Ali is another dasher who can explode at the back end of the innings and has done it many times in PSL previously.

Two Wicket-Keepers Haris and Haseeb Ullah will also strengthen the batting unit. Haris is explosive with the bat and has been regular in PSL whereas Haseeb is more of a Babar-type batsman who holds one end and keeps scoring.  

PZ All-rounders 2024

PZ’s all-rounder’s repertoire is quite thin. The only two players who can be classified as genuine all-rounders are Aamer Jamal and Dan Mousley. Aamir has gained a great reputation in Australia where he shone both with the bat and ball. 

Whereas Daniel Mousley from England is an emerging all-rounder known for his aggressive batting (strike rate 142.22) and medium-pace bowling (economy 8.63). 

Peshawar Zalmi Bowling Attack

Khurram Shahzad, Naveen-ul-Haq, Umair Afridi, Gus Atkinson, Mohammad Zeeshan, Waqar Salamkheil, Mehran Mumtaz, Salman Irshad, Arif Yaqoob, Shamar Joseph, Arshad Iqbal, Luke Wood

If you look at the bowling resources of Zalmi only Gus Atkinson, Salman Irshad, Luke Wood, and Waqar Salamkheil (picked in the replacement draft) seem to be available for the whole event. 

Khurram Shahzad, Arshad Iqbal, Naveen Ul Haq from Afghanistan and young sensation Shamar Joseph all will be available partially or fill in as a partial replacement for someone.

Atkinson and Irshad have a fiery pace and can disrupt any batting line-up whereas Wood is more of a swing bowler to support above two. Waqar Salamkheil is a left-arm wrist spinner and has featured in many leagues globally.

Umair Afridi, Mohammad Zeeshan, and Mehran Mumtaz are local boys with limited experience but can be handy for PZ who are lacking in the bowling domain.

Peshawar Zalmi Management

Owner  Javed Afridi (Haier Pakistan)
Director of Cricket Operations & Bowling Coach  Mohammad Akram
Head Coach  Darren Sammy
Batting Coach  Kamran Akmal
Fielding CoachJames Foster
Team Manager  Arshad Khan
Creative Manager  Waqas Ahmad
Media Manager  Farooq Jehanzeb

Peshawar Zalmi Owner

Javed Afridi CEO of Haier Group is the owner of Peshawar Zalmi. Just like other franchise owners, he is also one of the crowd’s favorites but mainly because of his heartthrob personality and calmness within the dugout.

Peshawar Zalmi Director Cricket

Former Pakistan Fast bowler, bowling coach, and head coach of NCA Mohammad Akram will continue to lead the coaching desk of Peshawar Zalmi. He will work as Director cricket and bowling coach of PZ in PSL 2024. He has been associated with this team for quite some time and has known the unit in depth.

PZ Head Coach 2024

Peshawar Zalmi Head Coach will be Darren Sammy will continue to act as coach of Peshawar Zalmi. He was appointed at this role during PSL 2021.

PZ Batting Coach 2024

Former Pakistan wicket keeper Kamran Akmal appointed as batting coach of Peshawar Zalmi for 2023 edition of PSL and he will continue this season as well.

Zalmi Fielding Coach 2024

Former England wicket keeper James Foster has been appointed as fielding coach of Peshawar Zalmi for 2023 edition of Pakistan Super League.

Peshawar Zalmi Match Schedule 2024

To be updated.

Peshawar Zalmi Records

  • PZ won 49 out of 93 games in PSL history and lost 42 games.
  • Kamran Akmal is the top scorer of PZ in PSL as he scored 1972 runs in 75matches with 3 centuries under his credit.
  • Wahab Riaz is the top bowler of PZ and has taken 113 wickets for PZ in the PSL competition.

Zalmi’s Brand Ambassador 2024

Peshawar Zalmi Ambassador 2021

Peshawar Zalmi Brand Ambassador for 2023 are:

Peshawar Zalmi Anthem

Peshawar Zalmi song just released by PZ management can be seen by clicking on the below link:

Peshawar Zalmi Kit 2024

To be updated

Peshawar Zalmi Logo

About Ehsan Muhammad Khan

A cricket enthusiast who is keenly following cricket since years and now transforming his passion for the game by analyzing events taking place on the cricket field.

View all posts by Ehsan Muhammad Khan →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *