Galle Gladiators – Squad, Captain, Coaches 2022

Galle Gladiators

Representing Galle city, Galle Gladiators is perhaps the rather unluckiest side in the Lanka Premier League short history. The gladiators have been to the final of both editions of LPL, but they have never won the trophy. They should have completed the task. However, they have been contenders for the title in both stints. Lets see how their campaign goes when LPL starts in 2022.

Galle Gladiators Squad 2022

Below is the complete players list of Galle Gladiators of Lanka Premier League 2022 edition. Their teams comprises of several talented and experienced payers who are known for playing various global T20 leagues apart form their respective national teams.

Sarfaraz Ahmed

Janeman Malan

Sherfane Rutherford

Kusal Mendis,

Azam Khan,

Nuwanidu Fernando

Sammu Ashan

Imad Wasim,

Pulina Tharanga, .

Nimes Vimukhti,

Movin Subhasingha

Faheem Ashraf

Dushmantha Chameera,


Lakshan Gamage


Lakshan Sandakan,

Tharindu Kaushal

Sachindu Colambage.

Galle Gladiators Captain 2022

The side captain will be Kusal Mendis for the LPL 2022 edition. This will be his first stint as captain of the Galle Franchise.

Check preview of Lanka Premier League today matches here:

Galle Gladiators Batters 2022

The batting lineup of Galle Gladiators is full of experience. Kusal Mendis, Azam Khan, Janneman Malan, Sarfaraz Ahmed and Sherfane Rutherford are the specialist T20 batters in this lineup.

While Sarfaraz and Kusal Mendis can bat as per the situation, Janneman Malan from South Africa, Azam Khan from Pakistan and Sherfane Rutherford from West indies are known for their explosive approach with the bat, so it is a good blend of explosive batters and strikes rotators.

Nuwanidu Fernando and Sammu Ashan are the two young batters with great potential in this lineup. Both are young prospects and will be exciting to watch in the LPL 2022 edition.

GG Batters List 2022

Janneman Malan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Sherfane Rutherford, Kusal Mendis, Azam Khan, Nuwanidu Fernando and Sammu Ashan.

Galle Gladiators All-Rounders 2022

The Galle Gladiators have four spin-bowling all-rounders in their lineup. The senior among these four is Imad Wasim. Imad possesses great experience and was recently brilliant in CPL 2022. PulinaTharanga is another experienced campaigner who will be very useful for Galle Gladiators.

Nimes Viumkhti and Movin Subasingha are the remaining two spin-bowling all-rounders. While Nimes is still raw, Movin is quite different, as he possesses great striking ability with the bat.

Faheem Ashraf is the lone pace bowling all-rounder in this lineup. Faheem’s accuracy is quite brilliant; while he can also be destructive with the bat, his batting talent is yet to be shown in the game’s shortest format.

GG All-Rounders List 2022

Imad Wasim, Pulina Tharanga, Nimes Vimukhti, Movin Subhasingha and Faheem Ashraf.

Galle Gladiators Pace Bowlers 2022

With a century of wickets in the game’s shortest format, Dushmantha Chameera will be leading the pace attack of Galle Gladiators in LPL 2022. Chameera will be supported by Nuwan Thushara, who has even better numbers than Chameera.

With these 2 senior pros, Nipun Malinga and Lakshan Gamage are the two young pacers to support them. Lakshan Gamage has already shown a spark in himself, while Nipun Malinga is yet to be tested.

GG Fast Bowlers List 2022

Dushmantha Chameera, NipunMalinga, Lakshan Gamage and NuwanThushara.

Galle Gladiators Spinners 2022

With 81 wickets in 70 matches, Lakshan Sandakan will be the senior spinner in this lineup. With Sandakan’s wrist spin, there will also be an off-break and leg break on offer from Tharindu Kaushal and Sachindu Colmbage, respectively. All 3 spinners have great averages and economy rather and have a certain amount of experience, which makes Galle’s spin attack very dangerous.

GG Spinners List 2022

Lakshan Sandakan, Tharindu Kaushal and Sachindu Colambage.

Coaching and Support Staff of Galle Gladiators in 2022

Head Coach of Galle in LPL 2022

Former Pakistan fast bowler and T20 specialist Umar Gul will be replaced by Micky Arthur as head coach of Galle franchise. He has previously Dhaka Dynamites in BPL and Karachi Kings in PSL other than the international sides and coaching stints in county circuit .

Assistant Coach of GG 2022

Former Sri Lankan wicket-keeper batter Indika De Saram will serve as deputy to Umar Gul and has been named Assistant Coach of Gladiators in LPL 2022 edition

About Ehsan Muhammad Khan

A cricket enthusiast who is keenly following cricket since years and now transforming his passion for the game by analyzing events taking place on the cricket field.

View all posts by Ehsan Muhammad Khan →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *