CPL Winners List – 2013 – 2021

CPL Winners list

The Caribbean Premier League officially began in 2013 and soon become one of the top franchise T20 leagues. Competition comprises of 06 Caribbean regional teams. 4 out of the six teams have been CPL winners so far, while St. Lucia and Guyana Amazon Warriors are the only franchises who are yet to win Caribbean Premier League winner title.

CPL Winners List

Summary of Caribbean Premier League Title Winners List is as below:

S.#SeasonWinnersRunners UpWinnig Margin
12021St Kitts & Nevis PatriotsSaint Lucia KingsWon by 3 wickets
22020Trinbago Knight RidersSt Lucia ZouksWon by 8 wicket
32019Barbados TridentsGuyana Amazon WarriorsWon by 27 runs
42018Trinbago Knight RidersGuyana Amazon WarriorsWon by 8 wickets
52017Trinbago Knight RidersSt Kitts & Nevis PatriotsWon by 3 wickets
62016Jamaica TallawahsGuyana Amazon WarriorsWon by 9 wickets
72015Trinidad and Tobago Red SteelBarbados TridentsWon by 20 runs
82014Barbados TridentsGuyana Amazon WarriorsWon by 8 runs (D/L)
92013Jamaica TallawahsGuyana Amazon WarriorsWon by 7 wickets

CPL Champions Details

CPL winner history shows that only once team has defended his CPL title in 2017 & 2018. Trinbago Knight Riders is the side to achieve that feat and later by winning CPL title in 2020 they became the only team to won CPL Championship thrice.

CPL 2021 Winners

The defending champions of the Caribbean Premier League are St Kitts and Nevis Patriots. They defeated St Lucia Kings in the final of CPL 2021.  St Kitts and Nevis Patriots was the winner of CPL 2021, it was their first ever CPL title win. The final was a thrilling one as St Lucia Kings posted a target of 160, that was chased on the very last ball of the final by St Kitts and Nevis Patriots.

Dominic Drakes of the Patriots was awarded Man of the Match in the final as he scored 48(28)* and also took a wicket with the ball. St Kitts and Nevis Patriots won this season under the captaincy of DJ Bravo.

Roston chase was named as CPL 2021 man of the series for his 446 runs in the tournament.

CPL 2020 Winners

Trinbago Knight Riders was the winner of CPL 2020. They defeated St Lucia Zouks in the final. This was a one-sided final as St Lucia were bundled out for just 154 and Trinbago Knight Riders chased the total with 11 balls and 8 wickets to spare.

Skipper Kieron Pollard took 4 wickets, while Lendl Simmons and Darren Bravo scored half centuries to guide TKR over the line. Lendl Simmons was named Man of the match in the final, while Pollard for his brilliant all-rounder performances throughout the tournament CPL 2022 man of the series.

CPL 2019 Winners

Barbados Tridents were the winners of Caribbean Premier League 2019. They defeated Guyana Amazon Warriors in the final. This was the 2nd time that Barbados was crowned champion of CPL.

With a half century by Jonathan Carter and valuable contributions with the bat from Alex Hales and Johnson Charles, the Tridents posted 171/6 in their 20 overs. Guyana Amazon Warriors fell short of the target by 27 runs. Raymon Reifer was the pick of the bowlers with 4 wickets for Barbados Tridents.

Jonathan Carter was named Man of the Match in the final, Barbados Hayden Walsh named as CPL 2019 man of the series. Barbados Tridents won this edition of CPL under the captaincy of Jason Holder.

CPL 2018 Winners

Trinbago Knight Riders was the winner of CPL 2018. This was the first and till date only edition, in which a team successfully defended its CPL title. This was the 2nd consecutive CPL trophy for TKR and overall it was their 3rd.

Batting first the Amazon Warriors were restricted to 147/9 courtesy of 3 wickets by Khary Pierre and a couple of wickets by DJ Bravo. The Kiwi Duo of Brendon Mcullum and Colin Munro chased the total for the TKR with ease.

This edition was won by Trinbago Knight Riders under the leadership of DJ Bravo. Khary Pierre was named Man of the Match in the final, while Colin Munro was named CPL 2018 Man of the series for scoring 567 runs in the event.

CPL 2017 Winners

Trinbago Knight Riders was the winner of CPL 2017 winners. It was their second CPL titles and hence became the 2nd team after Jamaica Tallawahs to win the CPL twice. Trinbago Knight Riders defeated St Kitts and Nevis Patriots in the final of CPL 2017.

This was also a close final. Batting first, St Kitts and Nevis Patriots posted only 135 in their 20 overs, Javon Searles and Kevon Cooper took 2 wickets each. The total was chased with just one over to spare and Trinbago Knight Riders lost 7 wickets in the process.

Colin Munro and Kevon Cooper top scored with 29 runs each for the Knight Riders. Cooper was awarded Man of the Match in the final for his brilliant all-round show. Chadwick Walton of the Guyana Amazon Warriors was named CPL 2015 man of the series. TKR’s skipper in this edition was DJ Bravo.

CPL 2016 Winners

Caribbean Premier League 2016 winner was Jamaica Tallawahs. The 2016 CPL final was one of the most one-sided one. Sheer dominance was seen on display by Jamaica Tallawahs as they bundled out Guyana Amazon Warriors on just 93. Imad Wasim took 3 wickets while Shakib-al-Hasan and Kesrick Williams took 2 wickets each.

The target was chased with 9 wickets and more than 7 overs to spare. Skipper Chris Gayle scored unbeaten half century in the chase. Imad Wasim was named Man of the match in the final. Andre Russell of the Jamaica Tallawahs was CPL 20016 manof the series for his 286 runs and 11 wickets during the tournament.

CPL 2015 Winners

Trinidad and Tobago won their first title and crowned as winner of CPL 2015. They defeated Barbados Tridents by 20 runs. Half Centuries by Cameron Delport and Kamran Akmal first powered Trinidad and Tobago to 178 runs. Then the economical bowling by Suleiman Benn, Derone Devis and Kevon Cooper allowed Trinidad and Tobago to defend their total.

Interestingly the Tridents only lost 4 wickets, yet were unable to chase the target. Kamran Akmal was named Man of the Match in the final. Trinidad and Tobago’s Skipper Dwayne Bravo was named CPL 2015 Man of the series for picking up 28 wickets and scoring 173 runs.

CPL 2014 Winners

This was a rain-hit final in which Barbados Tridents emerged as winner of CPL 2014 by defeating Guyana Amazon Warriors. Half centuries by Dwayne Smith and Shoaib Malik allowed Barbados to post 152 on the board. In reply the Guyana Amazon Warriors scored 107/4 in 15.5 overs. They fell 8 runs short as per the DL method and Barbados Tridents were crowned as the champions of CPL 2014.

Kieron Pollard was the captain of Barbados Tridents in this season. Shoaib Malik was named Man of the Match in the final of CPL 2014. Lendl Simmons of the Amazon Warriors was named CPL 2014 Man of the series for scoring 446 runs.

CPL 2013 Winners

The inaugural edition of Caribbean Premier League took place in 2013 and Jamaica Tallawahs emerged as first ever winner of Caribbean Premier League. They defeated Guyana Amazon Warriors in the final. The Warriors posted just 128 on board in their 20 overs. David Bernard took 2/18 for the Tallawahs.

The target was chased by the Tallawahs in 17.3 overs thanks to unbeaten 47 by skipper Chris Gayle. Chris Gayle was named Man of the Match of the final. Krishmar Santokie of the Guyana Amazon Warriors was named CPL 2013 man of the series player of the tournament for his 16 wickets.

About Ehsan Muhammad Khan

A cricket enthusiast who is keenly following cricket since years and now transforming his passion for the game by analyzing events taking place on the cricket field.

View all posts by Ehsan Muhammad Khan →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *