T20 World Cup Batting Records

T20 World Cup Batting Records

The 9th Edition of the ICC Men’s World T20 set to take place in USA and West Indies. The World T20 2024 will have 28 days of exciting action, thrill and drama. T20I always rated as batsmen’s game and cricket fans had seen some exciting batting performances since the inception of the game. Let’s recap some T20 World Cup Batting Records

Despite emergence of some great T20 leagues T20 WC batting performances are highly rated. The 2024 event will see some guaranteed high scoring matches because of good batting pitches. Following are some of the major batting records at the World T20.

T20 World Cup Batting Records

Most runs in the T20 World Cup

T20I is often regarded as the format that suits batters the most. In the history of World T20, only two batters have scored 1000+ runs. India’s Virat Kohli is the T20 World Cup best batsman. He has 1141 runs in just 27 matches averaging 81. Kohli has never won the trophy as a player but he has delivered many stellar performances with the bat.

Behind Kohli is Mahela Jayawardene of Sri Lanka with 1016 runs in the event’s history he has most Wt20 runs. With 965 runs, Chris Gayle is the third highest run getter of World T20 history, however this record will soon be overtaken by Rohit Sharma who has 963 runs in T20 World Cup matches. Interestingly, in the top 4 everyone has played over 30 matches except Virat Kohli which shows how consistent he is with the bat.

Virat Kohli has Most Runs in Wt20

Most Fifties in the T20 World Cup

In the list of most fifties, there is no surprise either. Indian batting stalwart, Virat Kohli dominates this batting record of World T20 as well as he has scored 14 fifties in the event. Indian skipper Rohit Sharma follows him in this list with 9 half centuries and the universe boss of T20 cricket.

Chris Gayle is third in the list with 7 half centuries. While Gayle is already retired, the World T20 2024 is expected to be the last T20 world cup of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli as well and it will be interesting to see how many more they can add to their tally.

Most Hundreds in the World T20

Finally we’ve a World T20 record that is not dominated by Virat Kohli. Christopher Henry Gayle is the only batter on the planet who has scored two centuries in World T20 history. He has a high scored of 117. After Gayle, there are 9 different players who have scored one century at the T20 World Cup. These include; Ahmed Shehzad, Jos Buttler, Alex Hales, Mahela Jayawardene, Brendon McCullum, Glenn Phillips, Suresh Raina, Rilee Rossouw and Tamim Iqbal.

Highest Score By a Batsman in WT20

Brendon McCullum holds the record for the highest individual score in T20 World Cup history, which is 123. Followed by Chris Gayle and Alex Hales who both scored 117 and 116 runs not out.

Brendon McCullum has the Highest individual score in Wt20

Most sixes in the T20 World Cup

As t20 cricket is mostly about sixes one of the prestigious T20 world Cup Batting records is the most sixes hit by a batter. With 63 sixes, the record for most sixes in World T20’s history also belongs to Chris Gayle. In 33 matches, he struck 63 sixes.

Meanwhile no one even comes close to breaking his record in recent times, because Rohit Sharma who is second in this list has only struck 35 sixes. Jos Buttler and Yuvraj Singh follow Rohit in the list with 33 sixes each.

Chris Gayle hit most Sixes in t20 World Cups

Fastest Fifty in the T20 World Cup

The record for smashing the fastest fifty in the T20 World Cup belongs to someone who achieved this feat in the inaugural World T20. A record that has belonged to one player for nearly two decades now. Yuvraj Singh achieved this monumental feat in WT20 2007 when he smoked 6 sixes in an over against Stuart Broad and brought up his fifty in just 12 balls. This record seems to be unbreakable.

Following Yuvraj are Stephen Myburgh and Marcus Stoinis, both of them have scored a World T20 fifty of 17 balls. Glenn Maxwell, KL Rahul and Shoaib Malik stand third in the list with a half century of 18 balls at the World T20.

Fastest Hundred in the T20 World Cup

The record for the fastest century in World T20 history belongs to West Indies’ Chris Gayle. Interestingly, Gayle has the fastest and the 2nd fastest hundred of World T20 to his name as well. His fastest century came against England in World T20 2016 of just 47 balls.

His second fastest was against South Africa in the first ever World T20 of just 50 balls. Brendon McCullum is the third fastest century maker of World T20 history when he scored a hundred of 51 balls in WT20 2012 against Bangladesh.

Best Strike Rate in World T20

Amongst the batters who have scored at least 500 runs at the ICC World T20, Shahid Afridi f Pakistan and winner of ICC Wt20 2009 has the highest batting strike rate that is 154. In 34 matches, Afridi has 546 runs.

Following him is England’s Kevin Pietersen who has a strike rate of 148. Pietersen has scored 580 runs in 15 World T20 matches. At the third spot is England’s Jos Buttler who has 799 runs in 27 World T20 matches and his strike rate is of 144.

Highest Score by a team in World T20

Sri Lankan Cricket Team hold the record for the highest team total in ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. Sri Lanka scored 260 against Kenya at the inaugural World T20. England then follow Sri Lanska with their total of 230 against South Africa in World T20 2016. In the same game, South Africa scored 229, which is the third highest team total of World T20’s history.

Lowest Score by a team in ICC Men’s World T20

The unwanted record of lowest team total at the World T20 belongs to the Dutch. Netherlands were bowled out for just 39 against Sri Lanka in World T20 2014. Interestingly, they also hold the record for the 2nd lowest total which is of 44 runs and that also came against Sri Lanka but in 2021 at Sharjah. Netherlands were bowled out for just 44 runs in 10 overs, which is the shortest team innings at the World T20 (when the team got all out). Third in the list is West Indies, who were bowled out for 55 in World T20 2021, against England.

About Ehsan Muhammad Khan

A cricket enthusiast who is keenly following cricket since years and now transforming his passion for the game by analyzing events taking place on the cricket field.

View all posts by Ehsan Muhammad Khan →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *