T20 World Cup Winners List 2007-2022 – WT20 Champions List

T20 World cup winners list

T20 world cup is one of the major events arranged by ICC. Mega event of T20 format first took place in 2007 and since then there have been 7 different winners of the World T20. West Indies is the only team to have their name in T20 World cup winners list twice whereas India, Pakistan, England, Sri Lanka and Australia featuring once in the list of ICC T20 World Cup champions list.

List of T20 World Cup Winners

As Wt20 2024 is just round the corner and mega event starting in early Jun here is the list of past Wt20 winners along with T20 world cup winners list, ICC Word T20 host country list, Wt20 runners up and some other details of finals of WT20 history.

S.#YearWinnersWinning MarginRunners UpPlayer of the SeriesHost
12022England5 wicketsPakistanSam CurranAustralia
22021Australia8 wicketsNew ZealandDavid Warner (Aus)Oman & UAE
32016West Indies4 wicketsEnglandVirat Kohli (Ind)India
42014Sri Lanka6 wicketsIndiaVirat Kohli (Ind)Bangladesh
52012West Indies36 runsSri LankaShane Watson (Aus)Sri Lanka
62010England7 wicketsAustraliaKevin Pietersen (Eng)West Indies
72009Pakistan8 wicketsSri LankaTillakaratne Dilshan (SL)England
82007India5 runsPakistanShahid Afridi (Pak)South Africa

T20 World Cup Winners Years Wise

Following is a recap of all WT20 winners since 2007; starting from the latest T20 world cup champions year wise.


England – 2022 WT20 Champion

The current champion of the World T20 is England. The defending champions won the title in Australia in 2022. England defeated Pakistan by 05 wickets at historic Melbourne Cricket Ground. Pakistan post a score of 137 runs on a tough batting wicket while batting first, England chased sown the target with one over to spare.

All-rounder Sam Curran was the star of the final as he bagged three wickets for just 12 in his four over spell. He bagged player of the match award in ICC WT20 2022 final as well as adjudged player of the tournament for his 13 wickets.

Australia – 2021 T20 World Cup Winners

The World T20 2021 champion was Australia. Australia defeated New Zealand in the final of the event by 8 wickets at Dubai. Although New Zealand posted a strong total of 172 but Australia overcome easily and crowned themselves as WT20 winners.

Mitchell Marsh was the star for Australia with his 77 run unbeaten knock. Marsh was awarded Man of the Match in the final, while David Warner was named Player of the Tournament for his 289 runs. This was Australia’s first ever World T20 title, which came under the leadership of Aaron Finch.

West Indies – World T20 2016 Winner

The 2016 World T20 final is regarded as the best final in World T20 history. The game went down till the very last over where Carlos Brathwaite smashed 4 sixes to win the trophy for West Indies in as many balls. This was indeed a historic win as West Indies became the first team to win the World T20 twice.

For his innings of unbeaten 85 runs Marlon Samuels was named Man of the Match while with 273 runs India’s Virat Kohli was named Man of the tournament in World T20 2016. Darren Sammy was the captain of the Caribbean side in this event.

World T20 2014 Winner – Sri Lanka

Sri Lankan Lions emerged as victorious of the 2014 edition of World T20. Sri Lanka defeated India in the final by 6 wickets. India batted first and only a mediocre total of 130. Sri Lanka chased down the score with 13 balls to spare thanks to a half century from Kumar Sangakara and he was also adjudged man of the match for his 52 not out.

Indian batsman Virat Kohli was named Man of the Tournament for scoring 319 runs. Sri Lanka won this title under the captaincy of Lasith Malinga, however he captained in the final only while Chandimal led the side throughout the tournament.

2012 World T20 Champions – West Indies

West Indies won their first ever T20 World Cup in 2012 after defeating Sri Lanka in the final. Although West Indies posted just 137 on the board, but they still emerged victorious thanks to some fantastic bowling. Marlon Samuels was named Man of the match in the final that West Indies won by 36 runs. Sunil Narine was another key contributor in the final who took 3 wickets.

With 249 runs and 11 wickets, Shane Watson from Australia was named Man of the tournament. Darren Sammy was the winning captain of the Caribbean side in this edition.

2010 WT20 Champions – England

The World T20 2010 was won by England when they defeated their bitter rivals Australia in the final. England chased down 148 runs with 3 overs to spare in the final. Craig Keiswetter was named Man of the Match in the final for his half century. Whereas middle order batter Kevin Pietersen was awarded Man of the tournament for scoring 248 runs during the event. Paul Collingwood was the captain of England.

2009 WT20 Winners – Pakistan

The 2009 World T20 was won by Pakistan after ended as runners-up in previous edition. Younis Khan was the leader of Pakistan in the event. Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka in the final by 8 wickets with 8 balls to spare. Shahid Afridi was the star of the chase with his 54* and he was also named MOTM in the final.

Tillakaratne Dilshan was named Man of the tournament for scoring 317 runs. Pakistan became the first team to play back to back finals of World T20 during this edition.

ICC T20 World Cup Winners 2007 – India

The Inaugural Edition of World T20 was organized in 2007 at South Africa. India were crowned the champions by defeating Pakistan in the final. This was intense final where Pakistan fell short by just 5 runs. With 3/16, Irfan Pathan was named Man of the Match in the final.

With 91 runs and 12 wickets throughout the event, Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi was named Man of the tournament. India won this title under the captaincy of MS Dhoni.

About Ehsan Muhammad Khan

A cricket enthusiast who is keenly following cricket since years and now transforming his passion for the game by analyzing events taking place on the cricket field.

View all posts by Ehsan Muhammad Khan →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *