Sri Lanka T20 World Cup Squads, Schedule, Records

Sri Lanka T20 world cup Squad 2022

Sri Lanka’s Asia Cup winning captain, DasunShanaka will continue to lead the side in the World T20 2022. Sri Lanka T20 world cup winning chances are very high and they can be the dark-horses of the event with plenty of match winners in their side.

Analysis of Sri Lanka T20 world cup Squad 2022

Sri Lanka T20 world cup Squad 2022

Sri Lankan Batters

Kusal Mendis and Patthum Nissanka will be the Sri Lankan openers in the event. Both have been consistent, but Nissanka is slightly ahead. Mendis is more aggressive with the bat while Nissanka is more of an anchor but more importantly both are in form and complement each other very well.

The top order then has the services of Charith Asalanka who has struggled a lot lately in T20I cricket. Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka, Dhanushka Gunathilaka and Dhananjaya De Silva are the middle order batters of Sri Lanka. All of them can play aggressively and they have shown its glimpses throughout the year. Shanaka is more confined to the finishing role. Rajapaksa is explosive in the middle order whereas Shanaka is more of a finisher.

Sri Lankan Bowlers

Sri Lanka’s spin attack is led by Wanindu Hasaranga who is phenomenal with his mystery spin bowling and he can also bat a bit. Maheesh Theekshana is another wonderful spinner, who can trouble any batsman. Jeffery Vandersay is the 3rd choice spin bowler in this lineup.

The pace attack of Sri Lanka includes Dushmantha Chameera ( subject to fitness), Lahiru Kumara, PramodMadhushan, Dilshan Madushanka and Chamika Karunaratne. The pace attack will be led by Chameera and Kumara while Madushanka is someone with great potential. Sri Lankan pacers are not that much tested as Sri Lanka mostly relies on spin.

Sri Lanka T20 World Cup Players List 2022

Sri Lanka Africa WT20 Squad 2022: Dasun Shanaka (c), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera (subject to fitness), Lahiru Kumara (subject to fitness), Dilshan Madushanka, Pramod Madushan. Standby Players: Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrema, Dinesh Chandimal, Binura Fernando, Nuwanidu Fernando.

Sri Lanka T20 World Cup Schedule

Sri Lanka WT20 fixtures will start when they take on Namibia in inaugural match of Wt20 2022 on 16th October, 2022 as their first match in Wt20 2022. Sri Lanka’s next match in World T20 2022 will be on 18th October against UAE.

Sri Lanka T20 World match schedule for 2022 edition with all details is listed below:

Mat #DateDayGroupTeam vs TeamVenueMatch Time
1Oct-16SunASri Lanka vs NamibiaSimonds Stadium, Geelong04:00 AM GMT / 03:00 PM LOCAL
6Oct-18TueASri Lanka vs United Arab EmiratesSimonds Stadium, Geelong08:00 AM GMT / 07:00 PM LOCAL
9Oct-20ThuASri Lanka vs NetherlandsSimonds Stadium, Geelong04:00 AM GMT / 03:00 PM LOCAL

Sri Lanka T20 World Cup Records

Sri Lanka is of the winners of WT20 in the 2014 edition. Sri Lanka’s winning captain in T20 World Cup was Lasith Malinga. Except for wining the title Sri Lanka twice needed as Runners-up and once reached the semi-final. Whereas three times, they didn’t go beyond 2nd round.

Sri Lanka WT20 Records

  • 2007 – Round 2
  • 2009 – Runnners-up
  • 2010 – Semi Finals
  • 2012 – Runner-Up
  • 2014 – Winners
  • 2016 – Round 2
  • 2021 – Round 2

About Ehsan Muhammad Khan

A cricket enthusiast who is keenly following cricket since years and now transforming his passion for the game by analyzing events taking place on the cricket field.

View all posts by Ehsan Muhammad Khan →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *