MI Cape Town Team

MI Cape Town Team 2023

MI Cape Town Team will represent the Cape Town region of South Africa in the inaugural edition of the SA20 League.

MI Cape Town Squad

MI Cape Town has all basis covered in their squad for the inaugural SA20 league. They have impact players from overseas and renowned South African talent who have made a name for themselves in international cricket.

MI Cape Town Players List               

S.#Player nameRoleBatting StyleBowling style
1Wesley MarshallBatterRight HandedRight Arm Medium
2Delano PotgieterBatterLeft HandedRight Arm Medium
3Rassie van der DussenBatterRight HandedLeg Break
4Dewald BrevisAll RounderRight HandedLeg Break
5Sam CurranAll RounderLeft HandedLeft Arm Medium Fast
6Rashid KhanAll RounderRight HandedLeg Break
7George LindeAll RounderLeft HandedBreakSlow Left Arm Orthodox
8Liam LivingstoneAll RounderRight HandedLeg Break
9Odean SmithAll RounderRight HandedRight Arm Fast Medium
10Ryan RickeltonWicket KeeperLeft Handed
11Grant RoelofsenWicket KeeperRight Handed
12Ziyaad AbrahamsBowlerRight HandedRight Arm Fast
13Jofra ArcherBowlerRight HandedRight Arm Fast
14Beuran HendricksBowlerLeft HandedLeft Arm Medium Fast
15Duan JansenBowlerRight HandedLeft Arm Fast
16Kagiso RabadaBowlerLeft HandedRight Arm Fast
17Waqar SalamkheilBowlerRight HandedLeft Arm wrist spin
18Olly StoneBowlerRight HandedRight Arm Fast

MI Cape Town Batsmen

MI Cape Town has a deadly duo of Liam Livingstone and Dewald Brevis in their squad. Adding reliability and stability to their batting will be Rassie Van Der Dussen. Wesley Marshall is another destructive batsman in this squad who averages 26 and has a strike rate of 147.

Delano Potgeitor and Grant Roelofsen are two more batsmen in this squad. Potgieter has good enough stats, while Roelofsen is a highly reliable batter and can keep the wickets too. 

Mumbai Indians Cape Town Batsmen Batters List: Dewald Brevis, Liam Livingstone, Rassie Van Der Dussen, Delano Potgeitor, Wesley Marshall, Grant Roelofsen and Ryan Rickelton.

Mumbai Indians Cape Town All-Rounders

Rashid Khan and Odean Smith are the 2 specialists T20 all-rounders in this squad. Rashid Khan is arguably the finest leg-spinner in the world in T20 cricket, and with a batting strike rate of 147, he becomes a deadly all-rounder for the opposition. 

Odean Smith is an excellent wicket-taking choice, and his batting average is better than Rashid Khan’s. Smith also has an excellent strike rate of 138, making him an asset in the lineup.

MI Cape Town All-Rounders: Rashid Khan and Odean Smith.

Mumbai Indians Cape Town Fast Bowlers

Kagiso Rabada and Sam Curran will be the leaders of the pace attack of MI Cape Town. Both have 100+ T20 wickets and can swing the ball, especially in South African Conditions. Olly Stone is another skillful pacer who can be helpful in these conditions.

The other pace bowling unit includes Duan Jensen, Ziyaad Abrahams, and Beuran Hendricks. Ziyaad Abrahams has excellent numbers at an early stage of his career as he averages 19, with the ball taking 28 wickets in 20 T20s. Duan Jensen is also a potential talent.

Beuran Hendricks is an experienced campaigner with over 100 T20 wickets to his name and is also helpful with the economy rate.

MI Cape Town Fast Bowlers: Kagiso Rabada, Sam Curran, Duan Jensen, Ziyaad Abrahams, Olly Stone, and Beuran Hendricks.

Mumbai Indians Cape Town Spinners

Besides Rashid Khan’s brilliance, MI Cape Town has got Waqar Salamkheil and George Linde in their lineup. Linde has 122 wickets at an economy rate of just 7 in T20 cricket, while Salamkheil has taken 33 wickets in 22 T20s with his wrist spin. Linde and Waqar Salamkheil will play the supporting role of Rashid Khan in this lineup.

MI Cape Town Spinners: Rashid Khan, George Linde and Waqar Salamkheil.

MI Cape Town Wicket Keeper

Ryan Rickelton is a Wicket-Keeper batter in this lineup. He is more of a red-ball player, but he is slowly beginning to find his feet in the game’s shortest format.

MI Cape Town Overseas Players

Jofra Archer, Sam Curran, Rashid Khan, George Linde, Liam Livingstone, Waqar Salamkheil, Odean Smith, Olly Stone,

MI Cape Town Captain SA20

Afghanistan’s all-rounder and perhaps the finest T20 leg-spinner, Rashid Khan, will captain the MI Cape Town side in SA20 2023.

MI Cape Town Owner

As name suggest MI Cape Town owned by IPL franchise Mumbai Indians group Reliance Industries and also owned MI New York in Major League Cricket.

About Ehsan Muhammad Khan

A cricket enthusiast who is keenly following cricket since years and now transforming his passion for the game by analyzing events taking place on the cricket field.

View all posts by Ehsan Muhammad Khan →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *