Durban Super Giants Team

Durban Super Giants 2023

The inaugural season of SA20 will begin in the 2nd week of January. Six teams will participate in the league, and Durban Super Giants team will be one participating in the league.

Durban Super Giants Squad

Durban Super Giants Team consists of T20 specialists in the presence of exceptional local and foreign players pool. The Durban Super Giants squad they have all basis covered.

Durban Super Giants Players List

S.#Player NameRoleBatting StyleBowling style
1Christian JonkerBatterRight HandedRight Arm Fast Medium
2Simon HArmerSpinnerRight HandedRight Arm Off Break
3Matthew BreetzkeWicketkeeper BatterRight Handed
4Johnson CharlesWicketkeeper BatterRight Handed
5Quinton de KockWicketkeeper BatterLeft Handed
6Heinrich KlaasenWicketkeeper BatterRight HandedRight Arm Off Break
7Jason HolderAll rounderRight HandedRight Arm Fast Medium
8Kyle MayersAll rounderLeft HandedRight Arm Medium
9Wiaan MulderAll rounderRight HandedRight Arm Medium
10Keemo PaulAll rounderRight HandedRight Arm Fast Medium
11Dwaine PretoriusAll rounderRight HandedRight Arm Fast Medium
12Prenelan SubrayenAll rounderRight HandedRight Arm Off Break
13Kyle AbbottBowlerRight HandedRight Arm Fast Medium
14Keshav MaharajBowlerRight HandedSlow left Arm orthodox
15Reece TopleyBowlerRight HandedLeft Arm Fast Medium
16Dilshan MadushankaBowlerRight HandedLeft Arm Fast Medium
17Junior DalaBowlerRight HandedRight Arm Medium

Durban Super Giants Batsmen

The batting line of the Durban Super Giants is star-studded. They have a great trio of hard-hitting WK batsmen. Quinton De Kock, Johnson Charles, and Heinrich Klaasen are part of this fiery batting line. All 3 of them can smack the ball a mile and are specialized T20 batters. 

Christiaan Jonker is a middle-order batter on this side with vast experience in this format. He has over 2000 T20 runs to his name with a strike rate of 130 and will be crucial with his 100+ match experience.

Kyle Mayers is a reliable option in this squad with the bat. Mayers is classy and can play as per the situation. Moreover, young Matthew Breetzke is also a part of this star-studded batting line. The 24-Year old has close to 1000 T20 runs at an average of 29 while maintaining a strike rate of 129.

Durban Super Giants Batters List: Quinton De Kock, Kyle Mayers, Johnson Charles, Christiaan Jonker, HeinirchKlaasen and Matthew Breetzke.

Durban Super Giants All-Rounders

The Super Giants have a good lot of All-Rounders in their squad. They have the Caribbean duo of Keemo Paul and Jason Holder. The holder is exceptional with his hard-hitting down the order and good line and length with the ball.

Wigan Mulder and Dwaine Pretorious are two good local all-rounders on this side. Mulder has a strong record with the bat, while Pretorious is highly economical with the ball, especially in death overs. Pretorious’ bowling figures were commendable in the Abu Dhabi T10 League 2022.

The only spin-bowling all-rounder on this site is Prenalen Subrayen. He is effective with his spin bowling, and with a strike rate of 123, he is more than a handy batter.

Durban Super Giants All-Rounders List: Jason Holder, Dwaine Pretorious, Keemo Paul, Wigan Mulder, and Prenalen Subrayen.

Durban Super Giants Fast Bowlers

Reece Topley, Kyle Abbott, Dilshan Madushanka, and Junior Dala form the pace attack of the Durban Super Giants. Except for Madushanka, all 3 of them have played over 100 T20 matches.

All 3 of them are genuine wicket-takers, but Dala and Abbot can sometimes be slippery. Topley has shown immense improvement lately, and he is someone who can take wickets with the new ball and can also control the economy rate.

Dilshan Madushanka is the least experienced pacer in this lot. However, he is talented and has been good in his young T20 career.

Durban Super Giants Fast Bowlers List: Reece Topley, Kyle Abbott, Junior Dala, and Dilshan Madushanka.

Durban Super Giants Spinners

The two economy-rate specialists, Keshav Maharaj and Simon Harmer, are the two specialized spinners in this lineup. Both have taken 100+ wickets in the shortest format of the game and kept their T20 economy rate under 7.5. Harmer is slightly more experienced. Both of them can build pressure and then take wickets.

Durban Super Giants Spinners List: KeshavMaharaj and Simon Harmer

Durban Super Giants Overseas Players

Johnson Charles, Akila Dhananjaya, Jason Holder, Kyle Mayers, Keemo Paul, Reece Topley, Dilshan Madushanka

Durban Super Giants Captain

Former South African captain and explosive batter Quinton De Kock has been appointed as captain of Durban Super Giants.

Durban Super Giants Owner

The RPSG Group of Kolkata owns Durban Super Giants. They have previously owned Rising Pune Super Giants in IPL and are the current owners of Lucknow Super Giants in IPL.

About Ehsan Muhammad Khan

A cricket enthusiast who is keenly following cricket since years and now transforming his passion for the game by analyzing events taking place on the cricket field.

View all posts by Ehsan Muhammad Khan →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *