Pretoria Capitals Team

Pretoria Capitals 2023

Pretoria Capitals is a T20 franchise team representing the Pretoria region in SA20 2023. Pretoria Capitals is owned by JSW group, which also owns Delhi Capitals in the Indian Premier League.

Pretoria Capitals Squad

On paper, Pretoria Capitals team is one of the strongest sides of the competition. Other than foreign picks, their local South African players are also stalwarts regarding the game’s shortest format.

Pretoria Capitals Players List

S.#Player NameRoleBatting styleBowling style
1Rilee RossouwBatterLeft HandedRight Arm Off Spin
2Marco MaraisBatterRight HandedRight Arm Medium Fast
3Will JacksBatterRight HandedRight Arm Off Break
4Cameron DelportBatterLeft HandedRight Arm Medium
5Shane DadswellBatterRight HandedRight Arm Medium
6Theunis de BruynBatterRight HandedRight Arm Medium Fast
7Shaun von BergAllrounderRight HandedLeg Break
8Jimmy NeeshamAllrounderLeft HandedRight Arm Medium Fast
9Phil SaltWicket KeeperRight Handed
10Kusal MendisWicket KeeperRight Handed
11Adil RashidBowlerRight HandedLeg Break
12Migael PretoriusBowlerRight HandedRight Arm Fast Medium
13Wayne ParnellBowlerLeft HandedLeft Arm Medium Fast
14Anrich NortjeBowlerRight HandedRight Arm Fast
15Josh LittleBowlerRight HandedLeft Arm Fast Medium
16Daryn DupavillonBowlerRight HandedRight Arm Fast
17Eathan BoschBowlerRight HandedRight Arm Fast

Pretoria Capitals Batsmen

Pretoria Capitals team have an exciting pool of batsmen in their squad. Will Jacks, Rilee Rossouw, Cameron Delport, and Kusal Mendis star batters in this lineup.

With 2 centuries this year in T20I cricket, Rilee Rossouw is perhaps the most dangerous T20I batter in the world. Kusal Mendis and Cameron Delport are highly talented and seasoned T20 campaigners in this lineup.

With an average of 29 and a strike rate of 154, Will Jacks is also a deadly T20 batter. Moreover, Theunis de Bruyn and Phil Salt are two exciting batsmen in this squad. Salt has a T20 batting strike rate of 150, and he is instrumental in the Power Play overs. 

On the other hand, De Bruyn is a reliable batter who averages 30 with a strike rate of 130 in T20 cricket. The 29-Year old Marco Marais is an underrated name with the bat. He averages 33 with the bat in T20 cricket and has a strike rate of 144 in this format.

Pretoria Capitals Batsmen List: RileeRossow, Will Jacks, Cameron Delport, KusalMendis, Theunis de Bruyn, Marco Marais and Phil Salt.

Pretoria Capitals All-Rounders

Shane Dadswell and James Neesham are the two all-rounders in this squad. Neesham is a renowned T20I specialist with 174 wickets in T20 cricket and scoring close to 3000 T20 runs. Dadswell, on the other hand, is an emerging talent with a batting average of 25 and a strike rate of 153. He can also bowl medium pace, just like James Neesham, which makes him very useful.

Pretoria Capitals All-rounders List: Shane Dadswell and James Neesham.

Pretoria Capitals Fast Bowlers

Pretoria Capitals have a deadly pace attack which Anirich Nortje leads. With over 100 wickets, an economy of 7, and a rapid pace, Nortje is one of the scariest pacers to face in modern-day cricket. Wayne Parnell and Josh Little are 2 more experienced pacers to support Anirich Nortje.

Apart from the big names, Daryn Dupavillon, Migael Pretorious, and Eathan Bosch are the other pacers in this lineup. Bosch is a genuine wicket-taker with a reasonable economy rate, and so is Daryn Dupavillon. Migael Pretorious is also a wicket-taking option, but his economy rate is higher than the rest of the pacers.

Pretoria Capitals Fast Bowlers List: Anirich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Josh Little, Daryn Duppavillon, Migael Pretorious, and Eathan Bosch.

Pretoria Capitals Spinners

The experienced English Spinner Adil Rashid will lead the spin department of Pretoria Capitals in SA20 2023. Rashid has 275 wickets in the shortest format of the game, and he is a dangerous leg spinner. 

Shaun von Berg will be the other leggie in this lineup. He has 68 wickets in 58 T20s at an average of 19 and an economy rate under 7. Both spinners are experienced and genuine wicket-takers.

Pretoria Capitals Spinners List: Adil Rashid and Shaun von Berg.

Pretoria Capitals Wicket Keeper

Phil Slat and Shane Dadswell are the two options to keep wickets for Pretoria in SA20. Salt is a recognized international talent and will be considered 1st choice wicket-keeper.

Pretoria Capitals Overseas Players

Will Jacks, Josh Little, Kusal Mendis, Jimmy Neesham, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt.

Pretoria Capitals Captain

All-rounder Wayne Parnell is appointed as captain of Pretoria Capitals for the inaugural edition of the SA20 league.

About Ehsan Muhammad Khan

A cricket enthusiast who is keenly following cricket since years and now transforming his passion for the game by analyzing events taking place on the cricket field.

View all posts by Ehsan Muhammad Khan →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *