Chattogram Challengers Squad 2023

Chattogram Challengers Squad 2022

Chattogram Challengers represent Chittagong City in Bangladesh Premier League. The franchise has gone under multiple name changes over the years. Chattogram Challengers squad composition for BPL 2023 is discussed below.

Chattogram Challengers have never won the Bangladesh Premier League yet. They will be keen on changing history this time.

Chattogram Challengers Squad 2023

Chattogram Challengers player list 2022 Bangladesh Premier League edition consists of a good blend of youth and experienced players both from local and international players.

Chattogram Challengers Players List 2023

S.#Player NamePlaying RoleBatting StyleBowling Style
1Afif Hossain,AllrounderLeft Hand BatRight Arm Off Spin
2Vishwa Fernando (SL),BowlerRight Hand BatLeft Arm Medium
3Ashan Priyanjan (SL),AllrounderRight Hand BatRight Arm Off Spin
4Curtis Campher (Ire),AllrounderRight Hand BatRight Arm Fast
5Mrittunjoy Chowdhury,BowlerLeft Hand BatLeft Arm Fast
6Shuvagata Hom,AllrounderRight Hand BatRight Arm Off Spin
7Mehedi Hasan Rana,BowlerLeft Hand BatLeft Arm Fast
8Irfan Shukkur,BatterLeft Hand Bat 
9Mehedi Maruf,BowlerRight Hand Bat 
10Ziaur Rahman,AllrounderRight Hand BatRight Arm Fast
11Maxwell Patrick (Ire),BatterRight Hand BatRight Arm Off Spin
12Unmukt Chand (Ind),BatterRight Hand BatRight Arm Off Spin
13Taijul Islam,BowlerLeft Hand BatSlow Left Arm
14Abu Jayed Rahi,BowlerRight Hand Bat 
15Farhad Reza,AllrounderRight Hand BatRight Arm Fast
16Towfiq KhanBatterRight Hand Bat 

Chattogram Challengers Captain 2023

All-rounder Mehdi Hasan has been appointed as captain of Chattogram Challengers for the BBPL 2022 edition.

Chattogram Challengers Batsmen 2023

Chattogram Challengers have 4 expert batsmen in their lineup. They have two local stars, Shamim Hossain and Sabbir Rehman. While Sabbir Rehman is more reliable, Shamim Hossain is a very good striker of the ball and has a strike rate of 136 in the T20 Cricket.

Sabbir is vastly experienced with over 150 T20 games in his career while Shamim has played only 40 T20s. Moreover, they also have Kennar Lewis from West Indies. Kennar Lewis has the least experience amongst the 4 batsmen with only 31 T20 games. However, Kennar Lewis is also a good hitter of the ball.

Will Jacks is another batsman in this lineup. Jacks has played 54 T20s and has a strike rate of 154. He is a stylish and aggressive batsman, and can also bowl part-time off-spin.

Chattogram Challengers Batsmen List 2023: Kennar Lewis, Sabbir Rehman, Shamim Hossain and Will Jacks.

Chattogram Challengers All-Rounders 2023

Chattogram Challengers have a fine pool of all-rounders in BPL 2023. They have two renowned local stars, Mehidy Hasan and Afif Hossain. Afif Hossain has the experience of over 100 T20 Matches while Mehidy Hasan has played more than 86 T20s.

While Afif is more of a batting all-rounder, Mehidy is the opposite. Both have their expertise in one department while they are handy in the other. Afif had a decent series recently against Pakistan.

Naeem Islam is another local all-rounder in this pool. He is also quite experienced and has over 1000 runs in T20 Cricket while he has also picked 24 wickets. Benny Howell is the only foreign all-rounder in this lineup and he is also the only pace-bowling all-rounder in Chattogram. Benny has the experience of 144 T20 games having 1913 runs and 158 wickets to his name in the format.

Chattogram Challengers All-Rounders List 2023: Mehidy Hasan, Afif Hossain, Naeem Islam, and Benny Howell.

Chattogram Challengers Wicket-Keepers 2023

Akbar Ali and Chadwick Walton are the two wicket-keeping options that Chattogram has. While Walton is vastly experienced with 175 T20s in his career, Akbar is an emerging talent. Akbar has played only 29 T20s in his career scoring 337 runs at an average of 21 and strike rate of 126. Walton on the other hand has 3300 runs at an average of 22 and a strike rate of 123. It is uncertain at this moment who will be the first choice keeper.

Chattogram Challengers Wicket-Keepers List 2023: Chadwick Walton and Akbar Ali.

Chattogram Challengers Fast Bowlers 2023

Shoriful Islam will be leading the pace attack for Chattogram Challengers. The youngster has made a lot of names for himself lately in World T20 2021 and also on Bangladesh’s tour of New Zealand. So far he has 67 wickets in 55 T20 Matches. Rayad Emrit will be the second frontline pacer. Emrit is the most experienced pacer of the lineup with over 100 T20 Matches and 160 wickets.

After the 2 frontline pacers, there are 3 emerging talents. Mukidul Islam, Rezaur Rehman and Mrittunjoy Chowdhry. Mukidul Islam has 38 wickets to his name in T20 Cricket, while Rezaur Rehman has just 15. The least experienced pacer is Mrittunjoy Chowdhry who has just 3 T20 Wickets to his name in T20 Cricket.

Chattogram Challengers Fast Bowlers List 2023: Shoriful Islam, Rayad Emrit, Mukidul Islam, Rezaur Rehman, and Mrittunjoy Chowdhry.

Chattogram Challengers Spinners 2023

Only one specialized spinner is in the lineup of Chattogram Challengers. Nasum Ahmed is a slow left-arm orthodox bowler with 50 wickets in 61 T20s. He averages 24 with the ball and has an economy rate of just 6.47. He will be supported by all the spin bowling all-rounders in Chattogram Challengers.

Chattogram Challengers Overseas Players 2023

Chattogram foreign players for the 2023 BPL edition consist of three players from West Indies whereas two Englishmen are part of Chattogram Challengers Squad. Captain of CPL franchise the St Kitts and Nevis Patriots Ryad Emrit is one of the overseas signings with countrymen Kennar Lewis and Chadwick Walton.

The English duo of Benny Howell and Will Jacks also make the squad of Chattogram Challengers formidable in the BBPL 2023 edition.

Chattogram Challengers Foreign Players List 2023: Benny Howell, Kennar Lewis, Will Jacks, Chadwick Walton & Rayad Emrit.

About Ehsan Muhammad Khan

A cricket enthusiast who is keenly following cricket since years and now transforming his passion for the game by analyzing events taking place on the cricket field.

View all posts by Ehsan Muhammad Khan →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *