Pakistan T20 World Cup Squad, Schedule, Records

Pakistan T20 World Cup Squad 2022

Pakistan will be going in the World T20 2022 with Babar Azam as their captain. Pakistan T20 World Cup chances just brighten up after winning tri-series in New Zealand and they also get a chance to understand the weather and pitches down under.

Analysis of Pakistan T20 World Cup Squad

Pakistan T20 World Cup Squad 2022

Pakistan Batters

Pakistan’s opening pair is their strongest point as perhaps their opening pair of Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan amongst the best in T20I Cricket History and they have five 150+ runs stands together including a massive 203 runs against England while chasing.

Pakistan’s middle order remains a problem for them. They have experimented a lot yet their middle order has failed to deliver consistently. This is the weakest point of Pakistan Team. Their initial middle order comprises of Haider Ali, Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed and Asif Ali as a late order finisher but he is not in best of forms recently. But now they have added Fakhar Zaman to replace Usman Qadir as well to further strengthen their batting credentials.

Pakistan Bowlers

The duo of spin bowling all rounders Shadab Khan and Mohammad Nawaz has sorted the issues in bowling department to an extent. Shadab Khan and M Nawaz both are in form and have done well in T20I cricket this year. They both can bat as well which is an additional bonus for Pakistan.

Pakistan’s pace attack is one of the strongest as compared to other teams in World T20 2022. Shaheen Shah Afridi and Naseem Shah with the new ball and Haris Rauf in death overs is a nightmare for the opponents as all three can bowl upto 150+ KPH consistently. Waseem Junior also came back strong in New Zealand tri series after getting drubbed against England.

In all Pakistan T20 World Cup Squad is a strong unit and can create panic in opposition’s dressing room.

Pakistan T20 World Cup Squads

Pakistan WT20 Squad 2022: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood. Standby Players: Usman Qadir, Mohammad Haris, Shahnawaz Dahani.

Pakistan T20 World Cup Schedule

Pakistan WT20 fixtures will start when they take on arch rivals India at MCG on 23rd October, 2022 as their first match in Wt20 2022. Pakistan next match in World T20 2022 will be on 27th October against the winner of group B.

Pakistan T20 World match schedule for 2022 edition with all details is listed below:

Mat #DateDayGroupTeam vs TeamVenueMatch Time
16Oct-23Sun2India vs PakistanMCG08:00 AM GMT / 07:00 PM LOCAL
24Oct-27Thu2Pakistan vs B1Perth Stadium, Perth11:00 AM GMT / 07:00 PM LOCAL
29Oct-30Sun2Pakistan vs A2Perth Stadium, Perth07:00 AM GMT / 03:00 PM LOCAL
36Nov-03Thu2Pakistan vs South AfricaSydney Cricket Ground, Sydney08:00 AM GMT / 07:00 PM LOCAL
41Nov-06Sun2Pakistan vs BangladeshAdelaide Oval, Adelaide04:00 AM GMT / 02:30 PM LOCAL

Pakistan WT20 Records

Pakistan is one of the sides to have their name in the ICC WT20 title winners list in 2009. Pakistan T20 World Cup winning captain in 2009 was Younis Khan. Other than the win;  once they ended up as runners-up after losing in the final, whereas thrice they reached the semi-finals of the global event.

Pakistan T20 World Cup Records

  • 2007 – Runners up
  • 2009 – Winners
  • 2010 – Semi-Final
  • 2012 – Semi-Final
  • 2014 – 2nd Round
  • 2016 – 2nd Round
  • 2021 – Semi-Final

About Ehsan Muhammad Khan

A cricket enthusiast who is keenly following cricket since years and now transforming his passion for the game by analyzing events taking place on the cricket field.

View all posts by Ehsan Muhammad Khan →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *