Sri Lanka Asia Cup Details – 2023 Squad, Schedule and Records

Sri Lanka Asia Cup Squad 2023

Sri Lanka is one of the most dominant sides in Asia Cup history. They have 6 titles of Asia Cup to their name, 5 in ODI format and one in T20I. Their last Asia Cup trophy win was in 2022 (T20I); however, they were last ranked as Asian Champion in ODI in 2014. They are heading into the tournament as the 8th-ranked ODI team. Below are the details of the Sri Lanka Asia Cup Squad, Schedule, and records.

Sri Lanka Asia Cup Squad 2023

Sri Lanka Asia Cup Squad 2023

Sri Lanka was the last team to name their squad for the Asia Cup 2023, and the reason behind that was quite simple. They were struck with a series of star players’ injuries and took their time to name the best possible squad with the talent available to them. They named a 15-man squad for the event.

If we talk about the injuries, Sri Lanka had to leave out Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Madushanka, and Lahiru Kumara due to injuries. All were a regular part of the ODI squad and in the plans of the Asia Cup. Binura Fernando and Pramod Madushan were named in the squad after these injuries.

Despite many injuries, Sri Lanka’s batting unit looks solid. They have the talented Charith Asalanka and Patthum Nissanka in their unit. Both talents are averaging 40+ in ODI cricket and have a healthy strike rate in their young career. Then, Sri Lanka has the clutch player, Dhananjaya de Silva, who is very impressive in tough circumstances, and the returning Kusal Perera further strengthens the batting line.

With the ball, Sri Lanka has Matheesha Pathirana, who has made many names for himself with his pace bowling in T20 cricket but is inexperienced in ODIs. Pramod Madushan and Binura Fernando also have similar cases. None of these pacers have even played 5 ODIs, so the pace attack remains the biggest worry for Sri Lanka. Kasun Rajitha remains their most experienced pacer with 31 wickets in 24 ODIs, but the rest are inexperienced.

Mahesh Theekshana will lead the Spin attack of Sri Lanka. With 36 wickets in 22 ODIs, Theekshana remains a genuine wicket-taker. He is also currently the best-ranked ODI bowler in Sri Lanka (20th). Dunith Wellalage is also a good potential youngster, and Dhanajaya De Silva is another spin bowling option that Sri Lanka can utilize. Sri Lanka will miss Wanindu Hasaranga, but they have the areas covered in the spin department.

Sri Lanka Asia Cup Players List

Dasun Shanaka (c), Pathum Nissanaka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Janith Perera, Kusal Mendis (vc), Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Matheesha Pathirana, Kasun Rajitha, Dushan Hemantha, Binura Fernando, Pramod Madushan.

Sri Lanka Asia Cup Schedule 2023

Sri Lanka Asia Cup Group

Sri Lanka have been placed in a tough group for Asia Cup 2023. They are placed with Afghanistan and Bangladesh in Group B.

Sri Lanka Asia Cup Fixtures

Sri Lanka will face Bangladesh in their opening clash on 31st August 2023, while they will face Afghanistan on 5th September 2023 to complete their Asia Cup group stage fixtures. Their opening clash is in Pallekele, while the next is in Lahore.

Sri Lanka Asia Cup Time Table 2023

Mat #DateDayGroupVs TeamVenueMatch Time (GMT/Local)
2August-31ThursdayBBangladeshPallekele09:30 AM  / 2:30 PM 
6Sep-05TuesdayBAfghanistanGaddafi Stadium, Lahore09:30 AM  / 2:30 PM 

Sri Lanka Schedule of Super 4 in Asia Cup

The Sri Lanka Asia Cup all-match schedule will be updated once they qualify for the Super 4 phase in Asia Cup 2023.

Sri Lanka Asia Cup Titles

Sri Lanka is the 2nd most successful team in Asia Cup history. They have won the event 5 times in the ODI format and once in the T20I format. The list of Sri Lanka’s Asia Cup wins in the ODI format follows.


Winning Captain of Sri Lanka in Asia Cup

1986Duleep Mendia
1997Arjuna Ranatunga
2004Marvan Attapatu
2008Mahlea Jayawardene
2014Angelow Matthews

Sri Lanka Asia Cup Records

Regarding match-win percentage, Sri Lanka is the most successful team in Asia Cup history. They have won 36 games out of 50 and lost only 14 with a win percentage 72.


Sri Lanka Pakistan Asia Cup Results

The Sri Lanka vs. Pakistan Asia Cup rivalry has been dominated by Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka has defeated Pakistan 10 times in Asia Cup ODIs, and only 4 times Pakistan have emerged victorious in this rivalry.

MatchesSri Lanka wonPakistan wonDraw/Tie/No result

Sri Lanka Afghanistan Asia Cup Result

Sri Lanka and Afghanistan have a 50-50 record against each other in Asia Cup ODI history. Both sides have played 2 games against each other and won one. Both teams have a chance to take the lead this time.

MatchesSri Lanka wonAfghanistan wonDraw/Tie/No result

Sri Lanka Bangladesh Asia Cup result

Bangladesh is another team that Sri Lanka have dominated with ease. Out of the 13 matches played between the two sides in Asia Cup (ODIs), Sri Lanka have won 11 while 2 have gone Bangladesh’s way.

MatchesSri Lanka wonBangladesh wonDraw/Tie/No result

Sri Lanka India Asia Cup Results

Sri Lanka has even got a superior head-to-head record with India as well. In 19 ODI encounters of the Asia Cup between the two sides, Sri Lanka has won 10 while India have won 9.

MatchesSri Lanka wonIndia wonDraw/Tie/No result

Most Runs for Sri Lanka in Asia Cup History

Sri Lanka has an entire list of legends dominating their batting charts in Asia Cup history. Their top run-getter is Sanath Jayasuriya, the highest run-scorer in Asia Cup History. He scored 1220 runs in 25 matches with 6 centuries, the highest by any batter in the Asia Cup. He is followed by Sangakkara, Ranatunga, Jayawardene, and Aravinda de Silva in Sri Lanka batting charts during the Asia Cup..

S Jayasuriya1990-200825241122013053102.563
K Sangakkara2004-20142423127712148.8684.548
Arjuna Ranatunga1984-199719196263131*5782.716
M Jayawardene200-2014282631997829.387.607
Aravinda de Silva1984-20002422219296*32.283.404

Most Wickets by Sri Lanka in Asia Cup

Sri Lanka’s legendary off-spin bowler, Muttiah Muralidaran, leads their bowling charts in Asia Cup history. He has taken 30 wickets in 24 matches. Followed by Malinga, who has 29 wickets in 14 games over the years in Asia Cup. They have 3 spinners in the top 5 wicket takers of the Asia Cup.

M Muralidaran1995-20102424305 for 31283.754611
Lasith Malinga2004-20181414295 for 34204.652613
Ajantha Mendis2008-201488262 for 22103.981522
Chaminda Vaas1995-20081919236 for 13274.193900
S Jayasuriya1990-20082521223 for 30304.484010

About Ehsan Muhammad Khan

A cricket enthusiast who is keenly following cricket since years and now transforming his passion for the game by analyzing events taking place on the cricket field.

View all posts by Ehsan Muhammad Khan →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *